AAYORA.AIExplore AI ↗

DaVinci Resolve vs Adobe Premiere Pro: Workflow Comparison (2020 Source)

Video, VFX & Editing · Checked

DaVinci Resolve
Adobe Premiere Pro

DaVinci Resolve and Adobe Premiere Pro are the two editors most often weighed by creators moving beyond basic tools. Resolve combines editing, colour, compositing and audio in one application with a free tier; Premiere is a subscription editor that connects to Adobe's other apps.

v2.0.0 relied on a December 2020 article. This version is rebuilt from Blackmagic Design's and Adobe's own product pages as shown on 2026-11-02, using the 2020 article only for long-standing workflow facts.

Key differences at a glance

  • Licence: free Resolve plus a one-time Studio purchase (US$236 shown on 2026-11-02) against a subscription-only Premiere (US$22.99 per month for the first year on an annual plan).
  • Free tier: Resolve's free version finishes up to UHD at 60 fps; Premiere offers a 7-day trial and a separate free mobile app.
  • AI tools: Resolve Studio's Neural Engine (magic mask, Speed Warp, Super Scale, voice isolation and more) against Premiere's Generative Extend, Media Intelligence search, Text-Based Editing and Enhance Speech.
  • All-in-one against suite: Fusion and Fairlight live inside Resolve; Premiere relies on After Effects and Audition for advanced motion graphics and audio.
  • Platforms: Mac, Windows and Linux for Resolve; Windows and macOS desktop for Premiere, plus mobile.

Specification comparison

FeatureDaVinci ResolveAdobe Premiere Pro
Free optionFree DaVinci Resolve edits and finishes up to UHD 3840×2160 at 60 fps; Studio is the paid upgradeNo free desktop version; 7-day free trial. A free standalone Premiere mobile app targets social video
Price model (as listed 2026-11-02)Studio: one-time US$236 (shown reduced from US$295)Subscription only: Premiere US$22.99/mo for the first year (annual plan, billed monthly); no perpetual licence
Resolution / frame-rate ceilingFree: UHD at 60 fps. Studio: up to 32K at 120 fpsNot stated on the cited product page
AI-assisted toolsDaVinci Neural Engine (Studio): magic mask, smart reframe, object removal, Super Scale, Speed Warp, AI voice isolation, music remixer, dialogue separator, UltraNRGenerative Extend, Media Intelligence search, Text-Based Editing, Enhance Speech, Object Mask, AI colour balancing; generative features use credits
HDR and deliveryStudio: Dolby Vision and HDR10+ grading and rendering, 10-bit encoding, hardware H.264/H.265, IMF, unencrypted DCP. Free: 8-bit formatsNot covered on the cited product page
Compositing and audioFusion compositing and Fairlight audio inside the same application (2020 source)Motion graphics via After Effects and audio via Audition, separate Adobe apps (2020 source)
CollaborationMultiple users on one project, including in the free version; Blackmagic CloudFrame.io included with plans
PlatformsMac, Windows, LinuxWindows and macOS (2020 source); mobile app on iPhone and Android
System requirementsNot stated on the cited pageAdobe's requirements page returned HTTP 403 on 2026-11-02; not verified

Shaded cells mean the cited sources did not state the value. We do not fill gaps from memory.

Cost and licensing

The licensing models are the biggest practical difference. Blackmagic's free DaVinci Resolve edits and finishes up to Ultra HD 3840×2160 at 60 fps, and Resolve Studio was listed at US$236 as a one-time purchase (shown as reduced from US$295) on 2026-11-02. Adobe's page states Premiere is membership-only, with no perpetual licence: US$22.99 per month for the first year on an annual plan billed monthly, or Creative Cloud Pro with 20-plus apps. Over several years the subscription costs more; in return it includes ongoing updates, cloud services and generative credits.

Editing workflow

Resolve is organised into pages for editing, colour, Fusion compositing and Fairlight audio within one application, so a project can move from cut to grade to mix without round-tripping. Premiere focuses on editing and hands motion graphics to After Effects and audio work to Audition. Teams already using Adobe apps benefit from shared assets and familiar interfaces; solo creators often appreciate Resolve's single environment.

AI-assisted tools

Both vendors now lead with AI features. Blackmagic lists DaVinci Neural Engine tools in Studio, including magic mask object tracking, smart reframe, object removal, Super Scale upscaling, Speed Warp retiming, AI voice isolation, a music remixer, a dialogue separator and UltraNR noise reduction. Adobe lists Generative Extend for lengthening clips, Media Intelligence search by plain-language description, Text-Based Editing from automatic transcripts, Enhance Speech, Object Mask and AI colour balancing; its generative features consume credits. We have not tested the quality of any of these tools.

Colour, HDR and delivery

Resolve began as a colour-grading system, and Studio adds Dolby Vision and HDR10+ grading and rendering, HDR scopes, 10-bit encoding, hardware H.264/H.265 acceleration, IMF and unencrypted DCP output. The free version is limited to 8-bit formats. Adobe's product page used here does not detail HDR or delivery formats, so we do not compare them.

Collaboration and platforms

Blackmagic states that even the free version lets multiple users work on one project and mentions Blackmagic Cloud collaboration. Adobe includes Frame.io for review with its plans. Resolve runs on Mac, Windows and Linux; Premiere's desktop editions run on Windows and macOS, with a separate mobile app.

Strengths and limitations

DaVinci Resolve

Strengths

  • Free standard version with advanced tools.
  • Colour, Fusion and Fairlight in one app; Linux support; Studio is a one-time payment per the 2020 source.

Limitations

  • Source says it needs somewhat more hardware for best performance.
  • Collaboration features limited in the free version.

Adobe Premiere Pro

Strengths

  • Tight integration with After Effects, Photoshop, Illustrator and Audition.
  • Source rates its cloud-based collaboration as stronger.

Limitations

  • Subscription model and no free version per the source.
  • Motion and audio work happen in separate Adobe apps.

Verified pricing

As shown on 2026-11-02: DaVinci Resolve free; Resolve Studio US$236 one-time (reduced from US$295). Premiere US$22.99/month for the first year on an annual plan billed monthly; Creative Cloud Pro US$69.99/month after an introductory period. Check both vendors for your region.

Which should you choose?

  • Learning or budget-limited editing: DaVinci Resolve — the source highlights the free standard version with many advanced features
  • Already working in Adobe apps: Premiere Pro — the source emphasises integration with After Effects, Photoshop, Illustrator and Audition
  • Colour grading and audio in one app: DaVinci Resolve — colour, Fusion and Fairlight are built in, per the source
  • Linux workstation: DaVinci Resolve — the source lists Linux support for Resolve but not for Premiere Pro

Our verdict

Choose DaVinci Resolve if you want to start free, prefer a one-time licence, grade colour seriously or need Linux. Its free edition handles UHD at 60 fps, and Studio adds HDR delivery, the Neural Engine tools and higher resolutions.

Choose Premiere Pro if your projects move between Adobe apps such as After Effects and Photoshop, your team reviews through Frame.io, or you want Adobe's generative and text-based editing features. Budget for an ongoing subscription; Adobe offers no perpetual licence.

Frequently asked questions

Is DaVinci Resolve really free?

Yes. Blackmagic's page states the free version edits and finishes up to Ultra HD 3840×2160 at 60 fps. Resolve Studio is a paid one-time upgrade.

Can I buy Premiere Pro without a subscription?

No. Adobe's page states Premiere is membership-only and offers no perpetual licence.

Which has more AI features?

Both list many. Resolve Studio's Neural Engine covers masking, retiming, upscaling and audio separation; Premiere lists Generative Extend, Media Intelligence search, Text-Based Editing and Enhance Speech. We did not test their quality.

Does Resolve run on Linux?

Yes. Blackmagic lists Mac, Windows and Linux.

Related comparisons

More Video, VFX & Editing comparisons · All comparisons

How this was checked

Specifications compiled on 2026-11-02 from the sources below. The cited sources were re-opened and the key table values re-checked on 2026-11-02.

Blackmagic Design and Adobe product pages read on 2026-11-02; Adobe's system-requirements page refused automated access.

Disclosure: AYORAHUB did not hands-on test these products or services. Nothing on this page is a lab measurement, benchmark or review score; analysis explains what the cited specifications mean in practice.

  • Rebuilt in v2.1.0 from Blackmagic Design's and Adobe's current product pages (read 2026-11-02). The 2020 Motion Array article is used only for workflow facts that have not changed (Fusion/Fairlight inside Resolve; After Effects/Audition beside Premiere; desktop platforms).
  • Prices are the amounts shown on each vendor's US page on 2026-11-02 and are promotional or introductory; they change.
  • Adobe's system requirements page refused automated access, so hardware requirements are not compared.

Sources

  1. DaVinci Resolve Studio — Blackmagic Design (manufacturer/official)
  2. Adobe Premiere — Adobe (manufacturer/official)
  3. DaVinci Resolve vs Premiere Pro: Battle of the NLEs — Motion Array (independent, 2020-12-23)