Press Esc to close · Ctrl+K or / to open

DaVinci Resolve (free) vs DaVinci Resolve Studio: Specifications Compared

Video, VFX & Editing · Checked

DaVinci Resolve (free)
DaVinci Resolve Studio

DaVinci Resolve's free edition is unusually capable, so the real question is what Resolve Studio adds for its one-time price. Blackmagic Design lists the differences on its Studio page.

All values come from Blackmagic Design's DaVinci Resolve Studio page, re-read on 2026-11-02, including the promotional price shown that day.

Key differences at a glance

  • Resolution and frame rate: free up to UHD 3840×2160 at 60 fps; Studio up to 32K at 120 fps.
  • AI tools: Studio adds the DaVinci Neural Engine features, including magic mask, smart reframe, object removal, Super Scale and Speed Warp.
  • HDR: Studio adds Dolby Vision and HDR10+ grading and rendering.
  • Formats: free is limited to 8-bit formats; Studio adds 10-bit encoding, hardware H.264/H.265, IMF and unencrypted DCP.
  • Price shown on 2026-11-02: free, against US$236 one-time for Studio (reduced from US$295).

Specification comparison

FeatureDaVinci Resolve (free)DaVinci Resolve Studio
Price (page)$0$236 (shown as Was $295, Now $236)
Max resolution / frame rateUp to UHD 3840×2160 at 60 fpsUp to 32K at 120 fps
AI toolsNot statedDaVinci Neural Engine: magic mask, smart reframe, object removal, Super Scale, Speed Warp, AI voice isolation
Noise reductionNot statedTemporal and AI spatial noise reduction, UltraNR
HDRHDR tools included (scope not detailed)Dolby Vision and HDR10+ grading and rendering
Codecs8-bit formatsMost professional formats, 10-bit encoding, hardware H.264/H.265 decode/encode, IMF, DCP
GPUNot statedMultiple GPUs for real-time 10-bit playback
CollaborationMulti-user collaboration includedNot stated beyond asset-management integration
PlatformsMac, Windows, LinuxMac, Windows, Linux

Shaded cells mean the cited sources did not state the value. We do not fill gaps from memory.

Who the free version is for

The free edition edits and finishes up to UHD at 60 fps, includes Resolve's editing, colour, Fusion and Fairlight pages, and, according to Blackmagic, allows multiple users to collaborate on one project. For YouTube, social video and most 4K projects delivered in 8-bit formats, it is enough.

What Studio adds

Studio unlocks higher resolutions and frame rates (up to 32K at 120 fps), 10-bit encoding and professional delivery formats, Dolby Vision and HDR10+ workflows, temporal and AI spatial noise reduction, UltraNR, and the Neural Engine tools. It also supports multiple GPUs for real-time playback of 10-bit professional formats. These matter to colourists, documentary and commercial editors delivering HDR or broadcast formats, and anyone who relies on noise reduction or AI masking.

Hardware acceleration

Blackmagic lists accelerated H.264 and H.265 hardware decoding and encoding for Studio, which affects playback smoothness and export times with long-GOP camera footage. Studio's multi-GPU support helps on workstations with more than one graphics card. GPU acceleration uses Metal on Mac and OpenCL or CUDA on Windows and Linux.

Value

Studio is a one-time purchase; Blackmagic showed US$236 on 2026-11-02, reduced from US$295. Start with the free version, and upgrade when you hit a specific limit such as 10-bit delivery, HDR mastering, noise reduction or Neural Engine tools.

Strengths and limitations

DaVinci Resolve (free)

Strengths

  • Free; includes collaboration and HDR tools.

Limitations

  • Capped at UHD/60 fps and 8-bit formats per the page.

DaVinci Resolve Studio

Strengths

  • UHD+ limits lifted, AI tools, 10-bit codecs, Dolby Vision grading.

Limitations

  • Paid; some features need separate licenses (encrypted DCP).

Verified pricing

Blackmagic listed Studio at $236 (was $295) on the verification date; free version $0.

Which should you choose?

  • Learning, YouTube, UHD/60: DaVinci Resolve (free) — no cost and UHD 60 fps support
  • HDR delivery, AI tools, 10-bit codecs: DaVinci Resolve Studio — Dolby Vision, Neural Engine, codecs

Our verdict

The free edition covers UHD editing and grading. Studio matters when you need HDR deliverables, AI tools or high resolution and frame rates.

Frequently asked questions

What does DaVinci Resolve Studio add over the free version?

According to Blackmagic: resolutions up to 32K and 120 fps, 10-bit and professional delivery formats, Dolby Vision and HDR10+, advanced noise reduction, Neural Engine AI tools and multi-GPU support.

Is Resolve Studio a subscription?

No. Blackmagic lists it as a one-time purchase.

Can the free version export 10-bit video?

Blackmagic's page says the free version is limited to 8-bit formats; 10-bit encoding is a Studio feature.

Related comparisons

Video, VFX & Editing

DaVinci Resolve vs Adobe Premiere Pro: Workflow Comparison (2020 Source)

DaVinci Resolve versus Adobe Premiere Pro

Resolve's free tier and one-time Studio licence against Premiere's subscription, with the AI tools, HDR delivery options and collaboration each vendor documents.

Verdict: Resolve gives you a capable free tier and a one-time Studio licence with colour, Fusion and Fairlight built in; Premiere is subscription-only and fits teams already…

Checked 2026-11-02

Read comparison

More Video, VFX & Editing comparisons · All comparisons

How this was checked

Specifications compiled on 2026-11-02 from the sources below. The cited sources were re-opened and the key table values re-checked on 2026-11-02.

Blackmagic Design Studio page re-read on 2026-11-02; listed values matched.

Disclosure: AYORAHUB did not hands-on test these products or services. Nothing on this page is a lab measurement, benchmark or review score; analysis explains what the cited specifications mean in practice.

  • Studio price was a limited promotional price when checked.
  • Minimum system requirements are not stated on the page.
  • Free-edition AI and noise-reduction limits are not stated.

Sources

  1. DaVinci Resolve Studio — Blackmagic Design (manufacturer/official)