The PlayStation 5 Pro is Sony's upgraded PS5 for players with 4K TVs who want higher frame rates with ray tracing. Sony's product pages describe what it adds, though they omit hardware figures and prices.
Values come from PlayStation's PS5 and PS5 Pro pages, re-read on 2026-11-02.
Key differences at a glance
- Storage: 1TB (disc model) or 825GB (Digital Edition) on the PS5 against 2TB on the PS5 Pro.
- Upscaling: PSSR (AI-enhanced resolution) on the PS5 Pro.
- Ray tracing and frame rate: Sony describes up to 120 fps with ray tracing and 4K output in compatible games on the Pro.
- Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi 7 listed for the Pro with a compatible router; not specified for the PS5 on its page.
- Disc drive: included on the standard PS5, sold separately for the Digital Edition; the Pro page does not mention one.
Specification comparison
| Feature | PlayStation 5 | PlayStation 5 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Storage | 1TB (disc) or 825GB (Digital Edition) | 2TB built-in SSD |
| Disc drive | Disc edition includes Blu-ray drive; Digital has none | Not stated |
| Ray tracing | Supported in select games | Ray-traced reflections, shadows and global illumination in compatible games |
| Upscaling | Not stated | PSSR AI-enhanced resolution to 4K |
| Frame rate | 4K with HDR; high frame rate in compatible games | Up to 120 fps at 4K with ray tracing in compatible games |
| Wi-Fi | Not specified | Wi-Fi 7 with a compatible router |
| Price | Not shown | Not shown |
Shaded cells mean the cited sources did not state the value. We do not fill gaps from memory.
What the Pro adds
Sony lists three main additions: PlayStation Spectral Super Resolution (PSSR), an AI-based upscaler for sharp 4K images; advanced ray tracing for reflections, shadows and global illumination; and support for up to 120 fps with ray tracing in compatible games. Gains are per title, and Sony's examples, such as 4K at more than 50 fps in one game, show the improvement is not uniform.
Storage and discs
The Pro's 2TB SSD doubles the standard model's 1TB, useful as game installs grow. The standard PS5 page describes a disc drive add-on for the Digital Edition; the Pro page does not mention a disc drive, so check before buying if you play discs.
Who should consider the Pro
The Pro makes the most sense with a 4K TV that supports 120 Hz and for players who want ray tracing without giving up frame rate. On a 1080p TV, or for players who mostly play less demanding games, the standard PS5 covers the same library.
Strengths and limitations
PlayStation 5
Strengths
- Disc and digital choices; lower entry hardware.
Limitations
- No stated upscaling tech or Wi-Fi version.
PlayStation 5 Pro
Strengths
- Double storage, PSSR upscaling and Wi-Fi 7.
Limitations
- Disc drive not stated on the page.
Pricing not verified
Prices change; check the vendor page.
Which should you choose?
- Best performance claims: PS5 Pro — PSSR, 120 fps with RT, 2TB
- Disc support and lower entry: PS5 — disc edition available
Our verdict
The Pro's documented advantages are storage, PSSR and high-frame-rate ray tracing. Prices and disc-drive options should be confirmed at PlayStation Direct.
Frequently asked questions
Does the PS5 Pro have a disc drive?
The PS5 Pro page cited does not mention one. The standard PS5 page describes a separately sold disc drive for the Digital Edition. Check Sony's store before buying.
What is PSSR?
PlayStation Spectral Super Resolution, Sony's AI-enhanced upscaling for sharp 4K images in supported games.
How much storage does the PS5 Pro have?
Sony lists 2TB of built-in SSD storage, part of which is reserved for system software.
Related comparisons
Gaming
Xbox Series X vs Xbox Series S: Specifications Compared
Xbox Series X versus Xbox Series S
Form factor, disc drive and storage options per Xbox's compare page.
Verdict: Series X for discs and storage; Series S for size.
Read comparisonMore Gaming comparisons · All comparisons
How this was checked
Specifications compiled on 2026-11-02 from the sources below. The cited sources were re-opened and the key table values re-checked on 2026-11-02.
Both PlayStation pages re-read on 2026-11-02; listed values matched.
Disclosure: AYORAHUB did not hands-on test these products or services. Nothing on this page is a lab measurement, benchmark or review score; analysis explains what the cited specifications mean in practice.
- PlayStation pages show no prices; performance percentages are not stated.
- The standard PS5 page lists the slim model's SSD size (1TB).
Sources
- PlayStation 5 — PlayStation (manufacturer/official)
- PlayStation 5 Pro — PlayStation (manufacturer/official)